Boards, Commissions & Committees

Montrose County is governed by a three-member Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) as mandated by the State Constitution. The BOCC provides leadership and vision in guiding Montrose County government and is charged with overseeing the appointment of individuals to serve on various community boards, commissions, and committees.

All County boards, commissions, and committees are established under the authority of the BOCC and serve at the pleasure of the Board. The BOCC is responsible for all appointments to boards, commissions, and committees to serve in terms established by the Colorado Revised Statutes or by the approved By-Laws governing the body. Depending on the board, commission, or committee, terms range from two to six years.

Citizens interested in applying to fill a board, commission, or committee vacancy will submit an application for appointment. Applications are available on-line or at the County Administration Building, located at 1140 North Grand Suite 250, Montrose. All applications for appointment will be reviewed by the BOCC. Following the initial screening process, the BOCC will select a number of final candidates to interview for filling existing vacancies. Candidates selected to be the best fit on the respective board, commission, or committee will be appointed by the BOCC.

Boards, commissions, and committees shall be governed by and shall comply with the provisions of the established By-Laws, as they now exist or as they may be hereafter amended from time to time by the BOCC. Any alteration or amendment or repeal of any particular set of By-Laws shall be by a majority vote of the BOCC. At the discretion of the BOCC, the Montrose County Attorney shall be involved in matters deemed to be major legal issues, and is to represent the interest of Montrose County.

All meetings are open to the public. Members of the public are encouraged to bring matters of concern to the appropriate body on topics relevant to the purpose and business of that Board and the County.